James Renwick Alliance
Chrysalis Award for Emerging Artists

2020 Focus: Ceramics

The Chrysalis Award was created by the James Renwick Alliance to encourage and assist emerging visual artists. Emerging is defined as someone early in their artistic career, without regard to age, who demonstrates excellence in their work and a commitment to developing in unique and dynamic ways, but without major gallery representation or significant exhibition history.

Our 2020 award will focus on emerging artists working in the CERAMICS field. In future years, we will solicit nominees in other media. The awardee will be selected by an independent panel of jurors. The 2020 Chrysalis Award was generously made possible by JRA member, Rebecca Ravenal.

The awardee receives a $5,000 unrestricted award, a trip to Washington, DC, for a dedicated occasion to give a formal presentation about their work (all expenses paid), and an opportunity to meet with other artists, collectors, and JRA members. Depending on health concerns/realities, these events may be conducted virtually. To further support emerging artists, especially in light of these tough times, we are offering $3,000+ in additional awards, also to emerging artists working in ceramics.

2020 Award Eligibility

The artist must have completed a four-year academic program or self-directed equivalent training within the past 5 years.  Residencies, workshops, and/or a dedicated practice qualify as equivalent training.  Applicants may not have had a solo commercial exhibition or be exclusively represented by a gallery or commercial entity.

The applicant must be working in the ceramics craft field and show merit, skill, and innovation in their work. Craft is the creation of original objects through the skillful manipulation of ceramic materials. Qualities that contribute to the success of a craft object include the skill of the maker, the use of the material, the refinement of the design, the originality of expression, and/or its cultural significance. The applicant must have residency in the United States.  Applicants are asked to supply 3-5 images of work completed in the past five years and answer all application questions.

Application fee: WAIVED FOR 2020
Application deadline: September 8, 2020
Notification of Award: October 5, 2020
Award Presentation: by the end of 2020