JRA Awards

The JRA awards honor and celebrate the master artists, distinguished educators and major contributors, collectors and philanthropists who have brought excellence, creativity and recognition to American craft art.


Masters of the Medium
The Masters of the Medium award recognizes artists for excellence of their body of work in the five craft areas of ceramics, fiber, glass, metal and wood.


Distinguished Educators

The JRA Distinguished Craft Educators Awards are based on the recipient’s reputation for excellence and innovation in education, influence on future artists in an education program, significant contributions to American education in the craft field.



Chrysalis Award

The JRA Chrysalis Award encourages and assists emerging American visual artists, focusing on different craft mediums each year. Recipients are based on the recipient’s merit, skill, and innovation.


One-of-a-Kind Award
The One-of-a-Kind award was initiated in 2005 to recognize those in the craft community who have made outstanding contributions to the American craft movement.